Midland Counties X/C Championship 2017

wpe106150b_06Please see the results from the Midland Cross Country Championships on Saturday 28th January.

Jordan Waine won the bronze medal in the U17 women’s age group despite losing her shoe early on in the race. Her determination to finish on the podium saw her overhaul those athletes that had beaten her a couple of weeks earlier at the Leicestershire & Rutland County Champs and will no doubt boost her confidence in the up-coming races.

It seemed that bronze was the order of the day for that particular age group as the U17 women’s team also won the bronze medal with Hannah Ord placing 24th and Rhea Cooper in 34th place.

Fresh from her silver medal at the Leicestershire & Rutland County Championships, Caitlin Roper went in the U20 women’s race and her fantastic run was rewarded with a 6th place finish. Not only that but the team won the silver medal with Alex West in 17th place and Fiona Brown in 19th place.

A top 10 finish for Elsie ‘the rocket’ Robinson in the U13 girls age group was a tremendous achievement as she is a bottom aged athlete in this age group. Elsie finished the course in 13:30 for 7th place.

Full results:

U13 girls – 7th placed team 186 points

Elsie Robinson 7th place 13.30

Izzie Smith 41st place 15.14

Flo Hagger 64th place 16.02

Ysa Murdey 74th place 16.22

Eleanor Harwood 85th place 16.58

Eve Rowley 91st place 17.33

Lily Grocock 99th place 18.19

U13 boys – 9th placed team 173 points

Lachlan Finch 18th place 13.13

Ash Butler 36th place 13.54

Samuel Wright 47th place 14.13

James Tansey 72nd place 15.20

U15 girls

Emma Richards 28th place 16.06

Emma Gascoigne 62nd place 17.43

Naomi Clarke-Myers 69th place 17.58

U15 boys

Charlie Combey 57th place 15.28

U17 women – 3rd placed team 61 points

Jordan Waine 3rd place 19.06

Hannah Ord 24th place 21.19

Rhea Cooper 34th place 21.54

Megan Rowley 50th place 23.11

U20 women – 2nd placed team 42 points

Caitlin Roper 6th place 19.21

Alex West 17th place 22.40

Fiona Brown 19th place 23.07

Link to official results page